• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 mammonista

mammonista

discovering Carpe

• 16 posts
  • TDM model: 1992

Posted 02 October 2014 - 04:24 am

I know this has been talked about a million times. Unknown condition of battery but it seems to hold a charge for a few days, but today after a few minutes of riding I shut off the bike and a few minutes later would barely crank over when I tried to restart. Last night before heading out I noticed that from an idle the headlight would grow brighter for just a second, then settle back down to the idle brightness as I revved the engine to 2,000rpm (was looking at the light output on the closed garage door). Also the blinkers (turn signals) take about 4 seconds to begin flashing when I hit the button. They'll immediately go bright, but wait four seconds to begin flashing.

Not sure, but all of these issues sound like a bad regulator might be the culprit. Don't mind spending the money as I'm new to the TDM and this thing is an absolute hoot to ride! But on Ebay regulators go for anywhere from $12 up to $150.

http://www.ebay.com/...6b333ab&vxp=mtr

http://www.ebay.com/...301d7f1&vxp=mtr

Am I missing something?

#2 marrk_us

marrk_us

Carpe fan

• Pip
  • 150 posts
  • TDM model: 1993

Posted 02 October 2014 - 06:57 am

That's pretty much how mine has been acting, except it has been starting fine. Last week I started doing some battery research on the adv forum figuring I'd replace my battery & regulator in one shot. Fully charged old battery & checked charging voltage @ 5000RPM & was only getting 12.9 volts (should be 14.3-15.3v according to manual) so ordered new regulator & battery. Sounds like ur in the same boat. Most on here recommend Electrex for the regulator. They ship to the usa, order from their site. I'd never risk used or ones from China, too much damage can be done if they go bonkers.

Edited by marrk_us, 02 October 2014 - 09:06 pm.

#3 marrk_us

marrk_us

Carpe fan

• Pip
  • 150 posts