• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Rip

Rip

arrived on last train

• 3 posts
  • TDM model: 2000

Posted 18 May 2022 - 08:23 am

Hi all, I'm new to all of this, I'm in my later years so please bare with me. I have just picked up a tdm 850 2000 4tx, been standing for 10 years, sonically cleaned carbs and recommissioned, bike runs and ticks over fine, but I have an issue with the fuel pump doesn't engage whilst the kill switch is engaged, I can hear the relay click when the kill switch is in the on position, but the fuel pump doesn't engage? Have bipassed and gone direct to the battery to the pump and the pump works fine and the bike starts off the button, my next step is to check regulater rectifier voltage. Is there a way to test the fuel relay or the green 5 pin relay and know what this does and is fie?

Thank you all in advance for your time and knoweledge.all input is greatly appriciated!

Thanks
Rip

#2 fixitsan

fixitsan

Carpe Citizen

• Supporting Member(thanks)
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,668 posts
  • TDM model: 2003

Posted 18 May 2022 - 08:50 am

I thought the fuel pump on the 850 was vacuum operated (my three were), so I never heard a fuel pump operate

900 with better bits. Owes me nothing, Makes me smile

#3 Rip

Rip

arrived on last train

• 3 posts

Posted 18 May 2022 - 08:59 am

Hi early models were vacum later electric pump ,which works fine just wont engage on ignition

#4 Snowbird

Snowbird

Just won't go.

• 1,349 posts
  • Location:Often on another planet, but mostly south Cambs. (St.Neots)

Posted 18 May 2022 - 09:21 am

If there is fuel pressure in the system you won't hear it tick, it only ticks when the bike has been left for a while, maybe drain the carb bowls (or just run for a while with the fuel tap off, long pliers should reach it via the left hand side fillet panel) and turn on the ignition to see what happens.