Stormtrooper

Carpe Regular

• Pip
  • 103 posts
  • TDM model: 2006

Posted 31 August 2009 - 10:04 am

Hey guys,

Noob here from Victoria, Australia.

Haven't got a TDM yet, but will be having a look at one this weekend as I'm very, very interested. As a few people from Oz have noted, its near impossible to find one of these in the showroom so I'm looking at a second hand model.

What I'm curious about is tyre life. Reason for this is the minister for War and Finance (otherwise known as my better half) wants me to be reasonably practical with my next bike and this includes things like not chewing through tyres in 5,000kms, not chewing through the fuel, and not chewing through my licence.

So I'd been looking at a *gulp* V-Strom 650.....

But then I found a nice example of a TDM second hand and started researching in earnest as it seems to be along the same lines, but hasn't been smacked hard with the ugly stick....

Anyhoo, I digress. I figured the TDM could cover me on a couple of the ministers demands, but I've got no idea what tyre life is like and from the bit of searching I've done, it seems to be a pretty subjective thing. The owner of the bike I'm checking out told me he's been replacing tyres about every 5,000kms but he's just fitted some Roadsmarts and thinks the tri-compound might wear a bit better.

Can i get some ideas on what tyre life is like, especially riding two up? (So not particularly hard riding, but extra weight over the back wheel..)

Thanks heaps guys. Hoping to join the ranks of happy TDM owners before too long!
Even with an IQ of 6,000 its still brown trousers time....

2006 TDM900 - Silver, Staintune exhausts, EFI mod, centre stand, Ventura rack. More to come!

Other bikes I've known:
CB250
VTR250
SV650

#2 Guest_graeme_*

Guest_graeme_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 August 2009 - 11:26 am