• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 peteb

peteb

arrived on last train

• 8 posts
  • TDM model: 2009

Posted 12 September 2018 - 09:33 am

Looking for advice. I come from a background of off road bikes, and even the 'road' bikes I've had (XT 600, KTM 950) have all had 21 inch front wheels and 'wide' handlebars. My riding style has thus evolved for those, and I regard them as 'neutral'. I can drop the 950 into a corner on the tar and it behaves 'predictably' for me.

So I'm new to the TDM, and road bikes in general, and I find the handling disconcerting. When I drop it into a corner I feel the handlebars want to 'turn too much' into the corner. I have to noticeably hold the inner bar 'outwards' for it to track through the corner. It is the same left or right, and fast or slow corners. I would describe it as 'oversteering', but I know that this term is used differently for cars.

What am I doing wrong? Is it bike setup (maybe drop the forks through the clamps a bit, or dial in more fork rebound), or is it riding style? I do like to move my weight around on the bike quite a bit, rather than just sit upright through the corner. 

Or is this just the way road bikes - or TDMs in particular - handle, and I must just get used to it?

#2 MalS7

MalS7

sticking around

• 36 posts
  • TDM model: none yet

Posted 12 September 2018 - 11:47 am

Hi Pete,
In my experience the TDM is slow steering and if anything, prone to understeer. I find it a challenge (pig) in the tight stuff but bloody wonderful on the sweepers. A common mod is to drop the forks through the clamps a bit or even fit a 17 inch front wheel, but thats to quicken the steering. You may need to check your setup and, if you can, have someone else take it for a ride that is used to TDMs or sports bikes. Your time on bikes with 21 inch front hoops will definitely have skewed your expectations, but it sounds like there may be a problem.
Cheers
Mal

#3 peteb

peteb

arrived on last train

• 8 posts