13 replies to this topic

#1 tullyhubbert

tullyhubbert

Carpe Addict

• PipPipPip
  • 316 posts
  • TDM model: no more

Posted 10 September 2017 - 09:56 pm

I've had my TDM 6 years now, sold my last Blade 4 years ago with a view to replacing it with something other than a sportsbike, something that didn't have 4 cylinders and something that interested me. I'm a relative newbie to bike (17 years) so as gorgeous as they are I don't have nostalgia for bikes like quartermaster just bought, that and I wanted to buy something I could ride as much as I want.

So this popped up last week and I now find myself the owner of an SV1000K4 with 9,500 miles and a years MOT. For a 13 year old Suzuki its in pretty good condition, stand a pace away and you can take pride in it. Get up close and personal and there are plenty of imperfections, this isn't a bad thing as I can get pretty anal about keeping things mint (My TDM e.g.) Bought as it stands, no service book or history, no manual, no tool kit, no standard parts to replace the following 'improvements' Renthal bars, Yoshi cans (E stamped but removable baffles missing) tail tidy and mini indicators.

Its on badly worn road legal race tyres, I picked it up on a wet evening which made for an interesting ride home <shudder> These will be replaced with something much more road focused this week, and I've just returned all the suspension settings to standard.

My thoughts so far, it sounds epic and engine performance is very impressive. It would be unfair to judge how it handles as I've never ridden on tyres so badly out of shape e.g. the front tyre is squared off! My first V-Twin, looking forward to some sunny Sunday mornings now  :good:

Anyone any experience of Avon 3D Ultra Sport tyres? I use Avon 3D X-M on my TDM and really rate them.

Attached Files

• Attached File  5.JPG   191.07KB   0 downloads
  • Attached File  1.JPG   221.91KB   0 downloads

Signature test

#2 dablik

dablik

Master Intermediate Fettlin' Award 2018