11 replies to this topic

#1 Oldbikergit

Oldbikergit

discovering Carpe

• 10 posts
  • TDM model: 2004

Posted 12 January 2020 - 11:44 am

Hi I'm a newbie.

Last month I bought 2004 TDM 900. The following day I noticed the neutral light does not come on so I contacted the seller who said it worked ok (being cynical he would say that wouldn't he). Anyway, I've used the bike no problem done a few hundred miles so far. It runs fine. I have other bikes so not always using the TDM. I've checked  everything Bulb continuity the switch I've even fitted another good used switch. Now while I've been doing this for some reason the bike won't start. And green light still does not come on. Can anyone help with suggestions as to what else could be wrong.

#2 Bigbill55

Bigbill55

arrived on last train

• 6 posts
  • TDM model: 1994

Posted 12 January 2020 - 02:40 pm

Sounds like a fault around the switch, not sensing it's in neutral. Original fault could have just been with the light, and it was still sensing neutral, but if it isn't sensing neutral it's like trying to start it in gear. Will it start with the clutch in?

#3 Oldbikergit

Oldbikergit

discovering Carpe

• 10 posts

Posted 12 January 2020 - 03:55 pm

Yes Bill. Ive tried with the clutch in. Ive looked at the wiring and it goes into a diode which youll probably know only allows current in one direction only. Could this be the fault. I wouldnt say Im an expert with modern bikes with all these sensors on. Im an old git and Ive had plenty of old bikes.

#4 Bigbill55

Bigbill55

arrived on last train

• 6 posts
  • TDM model: 1994

Posted 12 January 2020 - 06:43 pm