- - - - -

Motorcycle safety in the UK

• Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

Poll: Advance training (285 member(s) have cast votes)

Is advance training of any use?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 Guest_Emmett_*

Guest_Emmett_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 March 2006 - 10:34 pm

The US topic seemed to be a bit side-tracked, I'm in the process of training for the RoSPA test, anyone else done this test, any advice?

Also any advice on the merits or flaws of the other advance tests.

Has anyone got a decent insurance discount because of these tests?

#2 Dave in Thailand

Dave in Thailand

Carpe fan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 182 posts
  • TDM model: 1997

Posted 24 March 2006 - 03:32 am

My motorcycling life only really started properly when I joined an advanced club and did the IAM test. I started riding much faster and got much more out of bikes generally. That was in '92, I'd been riding since '84. The Wirral advanced group, at that time, was full of CBR6s, GSXRs and then Fireblades. Very few BOF bikes at all. Haven't seen them in ten years so it might have changed. I did get cheaper insurance at one time.

#3 stu

stu

full o shoite

• Supporting Member(thanks)
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,060 posts
  • TDM model: 2002

Posted 24 March 2006 - 04:26 pm

QUOTE(Emmett @ Thu 23rd Mar 2006, 10:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
The US topic seemed to be a bit side-tracked, I'm in the process of training for the RoSPA test, anyone else done this test, any advice?

Also any advice on the merits or flaws of the other advance tests.

Has anyone got a decent insurance discount because of these tests?

Yes, it's mostly in your head - get that straight and you are more than halfway there.