27 replies to this topic

#1 Geordie Guy

Geordie Guy

Carpe Citizen

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,502 posts
  • TDM model: 2010

Posted 09 December 2007 - 12:53 pm

Being a absolute novice with electrical soldering and the black art.
This is how I fitted my DG8 I got from the Motorbike show last week.

Acumen do not have the TDM electrical wiring on their web site. So I posted the diagram from JBX
and Paul from acumen came up trumps with the following.

Acumen wire colours soldered to TDM 900 colours

Acumen Brown to Grey into ECU ( Tacho)
Acumen Orange to White / yelow into ECU (Speed)
Acumen Red to Red /white into ECU ( +ve)
Acumen Black to Black / white into ECU (-ve )
Acumen Green to light green into Dash board cluster ( neutral light)

ECU is on LHS under side panel, you have to unwrap the bundle to get to the wires.
The dash board cluster is the bundel above that goes off to the Dash board.

Soldering was fiddley, especialy since it was my first go at soldering ever !!!

Once you have soldered the correct wire to each other, switch the engine on to see if it works

I fitted it here on the dash as there was no need to drill to fit it.

Once it's in, make sure everything is wrapped up again, off you go.....

Easier than I thought.... good.gif

Cheers, Ivan

I'm a TDM SNOB !!!!     "Adventure before Dementia"  

Kawasaki GT550, XJ900 Diversion, 2002 TDM 900 , 2008 TDM 900a, 2010 TDM 900a.

#2 Sparky

Sparky

just half a litre to go

• 809 posts
  • TDM model: none yet

Posted 09 December 2007 - 01:07 pm

Nice work for a first attempt. cool.gif

My tip when making these kind of joints: After taping up the soldered connection, gently run the side of the soldering iron tip over the end of the tape. This seals it and stops it from peeling away in the cold weather. good.gif
Ex-TDM owner. Now riding a Sprint ST 1050

#3 Baron

Baron

has been here 4ever

• 1,076 posts
  • Location:Drum Castle (well, next door), Kincardineshire.....well, I am a Baron!