• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 TitanNeil

TitanNeil

discovering Carpe

• 13 posts
  • TDM model: 1992

Posted 19 May 2019 - 11:32 pm

Ugh. There is finally some nice weather outside and I am in the garage struggling to make my '91 850 run properly. I did a buncha stuff to it - new head gasket, proper valve shimming, replaced timing chain. I discovered how much water a gas tank full of stabilized fuel will develop over a Canadian winter (about 1/3 cup!)...

So the bike rolls over fine, there is spark (although it seems weak, bluish yellow rather than fat white) but I keep getting fuel pouring out when I go to start it up. It starts on one cylinder and when I play with the choke and throttle the 2nd kicks in then fuel comes out the overflow. I am an expert at bodywork/tank removal now, so I rigged up a separate fuel bottle to save me from that nonsense as I don't seem any closer to figuring this out.

Needle and seats, right? They are clean and nice. Now with the tank out of the way I can see the left carb backfiring upwards - and the over flowing hasn't even started. Did get the timing chain 180 degrees off? Is a weak spark to blame for intermittent firing? Any suggestions? I have had the float bowls off 3 times yesterday and today and no change...Is the left carb just dumping fuel in and causing the backfire?

I also replaced the emulsion tubes which were ovalled...

#2 Studley Ramrod

Studley Ramrod

Monkey Boys Monkey

• Root Admin(A)
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 19,202 posts
  • TDM model: 1993

Posted 20 May 2019 - 01:40 pm

It could be a sticking/worn float needle valve, or possibly a worn/damaged gasket or o ring that is causing it to overflow.