• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 nigel2129

nigel2129

enuff posts to fill a 50cc

• 61 posts
  • TDM model: 1991

Posted 18 March 2014 - 11:17 pm

I have a warped LHS disc so I have purchased 2 new discs and a set of 4 pads and thought that perhaps it is better to play safe and get my local bike shop in Chippenham to do the work for me and at the same time replace all of the caliper seals but the shop has quoted me £132 plus vat for the seal set!
I understand it's 8 seals per side but I'm not paying that plus labour so my question is I'm a resonanble home mechanic but have never tackled calipers so do you guys think if I get all the parts I could tackle this at the weekend?
If so any hints and tips or potential pitfulls to watch out for?

thanks in advance.

#2 dapleb

dapleb

Monkey Boy

• Root Admin(A)
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,114 posts
  • TDM model: 1990

Posted 18 March 2014 - 11:55 pm

The seals (and pistonias if corroded) are expensive fur what they is, even aftermarket wans. 

Ear is how I did moine: http://www.carpe-tdm...430&hl=calipots

Ewe wont need to split em though unless you really feel loike it.

I would def not put on all yer new kit until certain yer stickin calipot is fixified.

"Whats up", "Piston Broke", "Yeah me too...hic"

If you want to mark your location on the Carpe map: http://www.carpe-tdm...opic.php?t=5117

Doin valve clearances? Use dappers valve shim exchange program and the job will be carroty - Free (other than you postin me yer shims) for sporting members.

Active member of TPLQHCSRSFC and TSRMCMAS (even though a year off) and avid fan of PM not sent.

#3 TYREDNGRUMPEE

TYREDNGRUMPEE

has been here 4ever

• 1,627 posts
  • TDM model: 1998

Posted 19 March 2014 - 12:38 am

get my local bike shop in Chippenham to do the work for me and at the same time replace all of the caliper seals but the shop has quoted me £132 plus vat for the seal set!