28 replies to this topic

#1 Dogface

Dogface

arrived on last train

• 5 posts
  • TDM model: 2006

Posted 04 February 2018 - 10:32 pm

Hi all
I'm new to the tdm ,I've recently bought a 900 06 reg with 22000 miles I was out on it the other day quite a cold day and was stuck in a bit of traffic after about ten mins of slow stop start traffic I noticed the temp gauge going up never got above 3/4 of the gauge .and as soon as I was moving again son came back down is that normal for a tdm ? Thanks

#2 fixitsan

fixitsan

Carpe Citizen

• Supporting Member(thanks)
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,667 posts
  • TDM model: 2003

Posted 04 February 2018 - 11:13 pm

yes, normal.

the fan should kick in just as the needle hits the red , or thereabouts

900 with better bits. Owes me nothing, Makes me smile

#3 Dogface

Dogface

arrived on last train

• 5 posts

Posted 05 February 2018 - 12:47 am

Thanks mate

#4 thelodger

thelodger

Carpe fan

• Pip
  • 150 posts
  • TDM model: 2010

Posted 05 February 2018 - 09:33 am

I think its a consequence of a big engine and a small radiator. My 900 is the same as yours  . If it is not moving enough air through the radiator it heats up very quickly but the fan does seem to do a good job of cooling it down again. 

#5 Dogface

Dogface

arrived on last train

• 5 posts

Posted 05 February 2018 - 10:11 am

Thanks for the replays put my mind at rest

#6 Apache

Apache

Knight of Postsalot

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 553 posts
  • TDM model: 1997

Posted 05 February 2018 - 10:36 am

Thanks for the replays put my mind at rest

I'd still leave it idling to the point of overheating and make sure the fan kicks in. It'll be mid July stuck in traffic before you find it isn't ..hth.

#7 drewpy

drewpy

has been here 4ever

• 1,753 posts
  • TDM model: 1996

Posted 05 February 2018 - 12:26 pm

I changed my thermostat to a car one with lower temp fan start up. drove me crazy as it came on 1/2 way up.