17 replies to this topic

#1 SteveK

SteveK

Knight of Postsalot

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 664 posts
  • TDM model: 2005

Posted 02 April 2010 - 05:20 pm

Looking to do an oil and filter change, anyone got a reccommendation for a particular brand of oil. Prices for 4l seem to vary enormously. Silkolene looks good value at the moment.
Full Givi luggage, MRA flip screen with German import top blade, Garmin sat nav, LED running lights, heated grips, Fender extender.
Follow my 2013 Pyrenees tour on http://pyreneestdm.tumblr.com

#2 Trebor

Trebor

Carpe groupie

• PipPip
  • 211 posts
  • TDM model: 1991

Posted 02 April 2010 - 05:26 pm

I have been using halford semi synthetic for many years in a lot of different bikes and found it great. You also get 5l for around £20 and the spare 1l is goood for top up in between oil changes. Halfords have also got an offer on at the moment. When you buy this oil you get a free set of screwdrivers.

#3 robelst

robelst

has been here 4ever

• Supporting Member(thanks)
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,844 posts
  • TDM model: no more

Posted 02 April 2010 - 05:56 pm

QUOTE(Trebor @ Fri 2nd Apr 2010, 05:26 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I have been using halford semi synthetic for many years in a lot of different bikes and found it great. You also get 5l for around £20 and the spare 1l is goood for top up in between oil changes.

Agree. Their mineral is good as well, although they rarely seem to stock that these days. HG often do good deals as well (including Silkolene or Motul).
Some experiment with cheaper car-oil which could work well but there is always some risk in clutch operation. Unless your bike uses more oil than fuel it doesn't seem worth the risk when compared to basic motorcycle oil.

There seems little point in investing in very expensive bike-oil unless it gets red-lined all of the time. Better change it a little more often for those that get nervous when not spending loads of money on their bike laugh.gif