36 replies to this topic

#1 Gobsheen

Gobsheen

really likes Carpe

• 88 posts
  • TDM model: 2003

Posted 27 March 2010 - 06:29 pm

Hi All,

I'm pretty new on here. I've been riding a fairly old Yamaha 600 Diversion for a couple of years and it's time to upgrade. I had pretty much settled on a TDM 900 until I looked at the V-Strom again. I'd ruled it out for some reason before....no idea what it was! Now, it's caught my interest. I've ridden an SV650 before.....hated the riding position but the engine was great. I think I'd be happier with the 1000 though.....I think. I plan to have the bike for a few years, like an upright position, something a bit different. I'm not a speed demon but like to have the occasional thrill!

I know you blokes are a bit biased but which should I get and why......the V-Strom or TDM?! I'm going to post something similar on a V-Strom site for their view. Any help in making this decision is much appreciated!

Thanks

#2 catsbum

catsbum

Sponsored by AutoGlym

• Supporting Member(thanks)
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,057 posts
  • TDM model: 2007

Posted 27 March 2010 - 07:00 pm

QUOTE(Gobsheen @ Sat 27th Mar 2010, 06:29 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi All,

I'm pretty new on here. I've been riding a fairly old Yamaha 600 Diversion for a couple of years and it's time to upgrade. I had pretty much settled on a TDM 900 until I looked at the V-Strom again. I'd ruled it out for some reason before....no idea what it was! Now, it's caught my interest. I've ridden an SV650 before.....hated the riding position but the engine was great. I think I'd be happier with the 1000 though.....I think. I plan to have the bike for a few years, like an upright position, something a bit different. I'm not a speed demon but like to have the occasional thrill!